Justin Barron an emergency call-up to the HABS on April 6, 2024

Justin Barron an emergency call-up to the HABS on April 6, 2024

Written by Fred Arshoff

Edited by Judy Pitcher

Before going into this article, I would like to thank two ladies for their help. First is my editor Judy Pitcher for her outstanding work on my articles. Adding facts and updating information between the time I’ve written the article and it’s being published. I would also like to thank Martine McGuire for messaging me as soon as it was announced that Justin Barron would be an emergency call-up. A tip of my hat to both Judy and Martine.

I decided to write this article, as I disagree with the Barron call-up. I feel strongly that Logan Mailloux should have been the player called up. In my eyes, Mailloux is a much better player than Barron, although Barron does have much more professional experience. I didn’t say David Reinbacher, as he has only played 7 games with the Laval Rocket and is still adjusting to the North American game.

As both are defensemen, I’ll go strictly by their stats while playing with the Laval Rocket this season. Barron has 30GP and is a -5, while Mailloux has 57GP and is also -5. Mailloux’s play improved dramatically when he was paired with Arber Xhekaj, while Xhekaj was assigned to Laval for 17 games.

The only reason I believe Barron was called up now, is that when Kent Hughes traded Artturi Lehkonen, he insisted that Barron be part of the trade. Hughes wanted a player that he traded to get, to be part of the HABS line-up immediately

If the call-up would have been simply to have a 7th defenseman, who would be sitting in the pressbox, I would have called up Mattias Norlinder. Norlinder has been a healthy scratch for Laval. I would want to keep one of their best defenseman playing in Laval to help them clinch a playoff spot.

In closing Judy, Martine and I would like to wish both Kaiden Guhle and Arber Xhekaj speedy recoveries from thei injuries.

JUDY’S THOUGHTS

Although many of us are looking forward to seeing Logan Mailloux eventually join the HABS line-up, I do feel his development is best served remaining in Laval. This is only his 1st year playing professional hockey.

Mailloux is just 20 years of age, he was a 1st round pick at 31st overall in the 2021 NHL draft selected by former HABS GM Marc Bergevin. Last season he was still playing junior for the London Knights. Remember he also missed an entire year of development when he was suspended by the CHL for his transgressions while playing in Sweden during the Pandemic. He has had to attend councilling and do community service over that time. And has finally been cleared by the NHL to play.

Barron is 22 years of age and is in his 2nd season playing professional hockey.He was a 1st round pick at 25th overall in the 2020 NHL draft by the Colorado Avalanche.Sidney Crosby, who is very familiar with him from their summers in Nova Scotia had high praise for Justin Barron, saying, ” if he was in charge of Colorado, he would never have made the deal to trade him away. He has the potential to be a top pairing defenseman.” High praise indeed.

STATS

JUSTIN BARRON 22 yrs old Right Defenseman

2022-23 MTL 39GP 4G 11A 15Pts 20PIM

AHL 25GP 7G 9A 16Pts 6PIM

WC 10GP 0G 3A 3Pts 2PIM

2023-24 MTL 42GP 6G 6A 12PTS 16PIM

AHL 30GP 2G 9A 11Pts 10PIM

Last 10 games -7

LOGAN MAILLOUX 20 years old Right Defenseman

2022-23 OHL 59GP 25G 28A 53Pts 77PIM

2023-24 AHL 68GP 14G 30A 44Pts 89PIM

Last 10 games -5

Source

https://www.eliteprospects.com as I usually use.

Leave a comment