Let’s try some Chemistry with the HABS

Let’s try some Chemistry with the HABS

Written by Fred Arshoff

Edited by Judy Pitcher

Photo Merge by Marlene Wall

First of all I would like to thank two ladies for their help with this article and others they have helped me with. First, my editor Judy Pitcher for editing, adding stats and information after I’ve written the articles but before publishing them. I’d also like to thank Marlene Wall for always being there when I’ve needed a photo merge for an article. A tip of my hat to both Judy and Marlene.

I have been discussing this with Martine McGuire for a while and decided to write an article about what we had spoken about. A tip of my hat to to you as well, Martine, for being an excellent sounding board.

As most of us are aware the March 8, 2024 Trade Deadline is fast approaching, as the NHL regular season winds down.

What I would like to see the HABS do now, instead of waiting until training camp, is to call up Logan Mailloux from the Laval Rocket and pair him with Arber Xhekaj. Yes, I said that. When Xhekaj was sent to Laval after his injury, he was paired with Mailloux for 17 games. They had great chemistry and Xhekaj helped Mailloux’s game improve tremendously.

Mailloux was then selected to represent the Laval Rocket at the AHL All Star game in San Jose, California. Why not see now, if they can reform that Chemistry in meaningful games at the NHL level.

Since they have already played together, they have a good idea of what the other brings to the game. It might take a practice or two to get their timing and rhythm back. I see them as a very good third defensive pairing for the HABS, two big men on the back-end.

This season is just about over, there is no harm in trying it now. If we wait until training camp and the pre-season, many teams don’t play their full NHL rosters, including the HABS. Let’s see what they can do against full NHL rosters in meaningful games and see what we have going forward. We should take advantage of the time on our side and get ready for the 2024-25 season.

Hopefully next season will be better for the HABS without so many injuries.

SOURCE

https://www.eliteprospects.com ARBER XHEKAJ with the Laval Rocket: 17GP 3G 8A 11Pts 34PIM +1 Logan Mailloux with the Laval Rocket: 45GP 11G 21A 32Pts 61PIM +6

Video below

Leave a comment